Allegiant

Allegiant

allegiant-book-cover-high-res

By Veronica Roth

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

 

Lydia’s Opinion:

4 Stars

Allegiant was a futuristic novel that was part of a trilogy. I loved the first book Divergent but I wasn’t fond of Insurgent, the second book. So I was not sure what to expect for the last book in the series, luckily I was pleasantly surprised. The plot was very interesting, where as in some books the author will usually pick between having only one main point of action and writing several different plot lines composed of different conflicts. I thought that the author found the perfect balance between the two. There were many new characters introduced in the novel some of which I did and didn’t like. Many of the characters I thought were great additions to the novel and others were slightly disappointing. I found that there were many deaths and discoveries about the Prior family which were quite frankly shocking.

One of the best parts of the novel was that we saw the progression of Four and Tris’s relationship. There relationship blossomed throughout the course of the book and we saw how they overcame their differences to make their relationship work. They had many problems and i found that sometimes their problems were repeated which was something i found my self frustrated with.

However I really didn’t like how the novel ended, it was completely unnecessary, and it ruined the entire book for me. I really thought it was a great book to complete the series with, but the book made me rethink my opinion on the series as a whole. It was an emotional book over which I shed many tears. Overall it was a good book and I would recommend it as long as you don’t mind sad endings.

 

Eliana’s Opinion:

2.5 Stars

Here we go, the final instalment of the Divergent series. I read it eagerly, devouring it almost desperately in my hurry to find out what happens to Tris and Tobias. Let it be known that I absolutely loved Divergent, and Insurgent was enjoyable in it’s own right. Allegiant however I was disappointed by.

Not because the writing spiralled downwards or the characters developed slowly. No, simply the ending screwed me over so bad I swear I am still in post recovery shock. I do not kid you when I tell you that I had tears streaming down my face. Not only because of the shocking ending but also out of frustration. I may be biased but I believe whole heartily there was no need to end the novel on that note, I as a reader did not feel as if the ending really suited the message that I took away from the previous books in the trilogy. The ending leaned towards tragic, but did not leave me with the intended impact, in other words, it left me with no sense of fulfillment.

Tris and Tobias’s relationship though somewhat damaged in the previous book was resolved on both their parts throughout the novel. I found it highly enjoyable seeing Tobias and Tris’s relationship progress and finally get to a stable place for both of them.

The story has a premise you’ll find more often now. A government secretly governing and plotting behind it’s own populations back. They (Tris and Tobias) have just escaped a rebellion that over threw the whole  faction system in Chicago. It was just power hungry tyrant after power hungry tyrant. It was a little bit exhausting. You can only have so many rebellions before the premise no longer makes sense or becomes tiring.

Nonetheless, the Divergent trilogy is something every young adult fan should get a taste of.

Leave a Reply

