The Fifth Wave

The Fifth Wave

Unknown

By Rick Yancey

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one. Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave. On a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, until Cassie meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan may be her only hope for rescuing her brother and even saving herself. Now she must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up. Cassie Sullivan gets up.

 

Lydia’s Opinion: 

3.5  Stars

The fifth wave was an interesting, stimulating story. The plot consisted of many side stories that came together very well. The story was told through the perspective of multiple people, which made the ending even more interesting as you were able to truly imagine what the characters would be thinking as you knew them so well. One factor about the book I did not enjoy was the fact that the majority of the story was told in the past tense, which did not give the story any action. I felt as through the beginning was all about setting and character development, which I do not feel, should be the entire story. The book finally started telling the action part of the story at around p.350.

When the action in the novel started unfolding I truly started enjoying the novel. The unraveling of the story was the very interesting, the plot and story were phenomenal.  One thing that I found strange was that we never saw the transition of Cassia’s and Evan’s relationship, one moment they were acquaintances and the next they were in love. Time was not shown well in the novel. I also wish that there could have been more of a resolution in all of the relationships in the novel. The novel also ended on a note of suspense as we don’t know about the growing relationship between Ben and Cassia and we are not sure about evan death. I have a theory where Evan could have possibly transformed back into his Alien self and survived the explosion. I also don’t like the fact that Ringer and Ben have such a close relationship, I feel as though Cassia should be Ben’s only love interest.

I would recommend this book to people who enjoy having unanswered questions at the end of a novel and to people who enjoy  a lot of detail and character development. Knowing more that necessary about the background of each individual character and not having a main character is yet another factor found in this novel.

 

Eliana’s Opinion:

1.5  Stars

To be honest I was disappointed with this book, and I personally don’t understand the hype surrounding this novel. Promising new young adult novel? I’m always game. I’ll admit while reading it there were parts I enjoyed but now looking back on plot and character development as a whole I find myself severely disheartened.

The relationships between characters were not meaningful and didn’t hold my attention for more than a few “awwww’s” before I realised we saw little relationship actually developing. Too fast, too soon. For a protagonist that directly told us she has almost no ability to trust she adjusted really well to the fact that someone bathed her while she was unconscious. I was actually more disappointed with the teen romance crap then I was with anything else. I’m always in for a good love story. However was that the whole plan? Have Cassie (our protagonist) be a self-reliant bad ass until she meets a guy?

If you were looking for an action filled apocalypse plot this is not it.It was a promising premise but it just didn’t deliver. The book was lacking. There were no shocking reveals or plot twists, there were absolutely no moments when I felt in any way connected with the characters on a more basic level than “holy crap, your life sucks.” And there were various points of view, which I felt was unnecessary.

People I talked to about this novel drew parallels to the Hunger Games and Divergent, but I wasn’t impressed.

Leave a Reply

