Scarlet

Scarlet

(Lunar Chronicles #2)

13206760

By Marissa Meyer

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive. Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

 

Sydney’s Opinion:

2.5 stars

I have mixed feelings with this book. On the one hand I really enjoyed how the author made a new protagonist and secondary characters, but at the beginning I missed being in the point of view of Cinder. But I thought that she made Scarlet, the new protagonist, a very good heroine despite a couple of times where she was very naive. I loved how throughout the book there was a lot of character development of Scarlet because it just made me love the character even more. I also enjoyed the romance between her and Wolf, that was one of the things I loved the most about this book. Not a lot happened, but you could see how well they got along and it was really cute. I’m glad we also got to see a bit of Cinder in this book as well, so we weren’t completely gone from the first novel.

The problem I have with this book, and the first, is that the protagonists are based on a princess (aka Cinderella and Red Riding Hood). I just feel like this takes away from the rest of the novel because, for me, I’m always making references to the princess stories in the book and therefore not focusing on what is actually happening. As well, I missed having the romance between Prince Kai and Cinder, and that’s one of the problems I have with the book changing protagonists. At the end of Cinder, I was really excited to see what Cinder was going to do and how she was going to handle being Princess Selene, but because Scarlet came in, we didn’t get to see that as much in the book.

For the books plot line, I quite liked it actually, I just found that a lot of times the author was droning on about things that weren’t really important. I liked how Queen Levana actually sent her “monsters” down to earth and killed a bunch of people. Now the only reason I liked this was because this will set up for the 3rd book and it forces Prince Kai to agree to marry her. It also makes Cinder decide to embrace who she is and take a stand, and to do this she will get to see Kai (yay!).

Overall I liked reading this book, I just didn’t get really into it. I think my favourite part of the book was that in one chapter we got to see the point of view from Queen Levana.

 

Leave a Reply

