Saving Francesca

Saving Francesca

82434

Melina Marchetta

A compelling story of romance, family, and friendship with humor and heart, perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Lauren Myracle.

Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastian’s, a boys’ school that pretends it’s coed by giving the girls their own bathroom. Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an impossibly dorky accordion player. The boys are no better, from Thomas, who specializes in musical burping, to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can’t seem to stop thinking about.

Then there’s Francesca’s mother, who always thinks she knows what’s best for Francesca—until she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, alone, and without an inkling of who she really is. Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, her social life and—hardest of all—herself.

 

Eliana’s Opinion:

2 Stars

This novel was oddly sweet and endearing, and most of the times it wasn’t even the romance that had me giggling. It was the oddly fitted friend circles and over the top dramatics at the bus stop, it was the absolute hilarity of the Sebastian boys and their perverted minds, it was the strong willed feminist, the quiet musician with her small smiles, or the overbearing friendly straggler always stopping by Francesca’s house. All these characters made me sigh in contentment.

It is safe to say that while this novel can most definitely be classified as a young adult romance I hardly think that is the only thing worth mentioning. Francesca’s personality is a strange combination of laziness, introversion, dry wit and a desire to fit in. Her romantic relationship though an essential plotline never made me want to throw up from an overdose of mushy gooey sentimentality. She never uses him as a crutch, leaning on him or needing to be saved as the title suggests. No, they both have warring internal struggles that they need to resolve individually. I do not have anything bad to say because overall the book was enjoyable but still a very light read.

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s