The Sin Eater’s Daughter

The Sin Eater’s Daughter

(The Sin Eater’s Daughter #1)

21936988

Melinda Salisbury

I am the perfect weapon.
I kill with a single touch.

Twylla is blessed. The Gods have chosen her to marry a prince, and rule the kingdom. But the favour of the Gods has it’s price. A deadly poison infuses her skin. Those who anger the queen must die under Twylla’s fatal touch. Only Lief, an outspoken new guard, can see past Twylla’s chilling role to the girls she truly is. Yet in a court as dangerous and the queen’s, some truths should not be told…

 

Eliana’s Opinion:

2 Stars

With a gorgeous cover and title like The Sin Eater’s Daughter my expectations were already high for this novel. I was originally drawn to this novel because of the rich world building. The culture the author created woven with religious beliefs, stories and customs (e.g Sin Eating) was captivating. I loved learning about Twylla’s role as Daunen Embodied and executioner as well as the Gods’ power over the people of Lormere.

However Twylla as a protagonist was indecisive, there were times when she was very self-aware and recognised her selfishness or lack of initiative and in those moments I wanted to cheer her on, but she never followed up or took action in the wake of these moments of clarity. Any chance to change her life was presented to her on a silver platter by someone else, I would have liked to see her take more initiative when it came to her own life. Though I did appreciate her flawed nature, the amount of sulking she did was frustrating.

I know that when someone is cursed with poison skin companionship is probably hard to find, but because of this intense isolation Twylla was only ever in the company of her love interests. As a consequence the novel was very heavy on the romance. I am not crazy about whirlwind romances, so Twylla and Leif’s relationship did not really entertain me as much as it should have. More so neither of her love interests peaked my curiosity, I was dismissive of both of them, which made their unrelenting presence in the novel unwanted when all I wanted to see was Tywlla learning to stand on her own two feet.

There were some revelations throughout the novel that did hold my interest but they could not make up for the lack of progressing plot. Furthermore, this novel had a lot of potential to be dark and I was disappointed by the absence of anything truly sinister. Though I did enjoy the ending I am not tempted to pick up the sequel due to the fact that I was bored for the majority of the novel.

 

Leave a Reply

