Dorothy Must Die

Dorothy Must Die

(Dorothy Must Die #1)

18053060

Danielle Paige

 

I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.

But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy.

They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm – and I’m the other girl from Kansas.

I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked.

I’ve been trained to fight.

And I have a mission.

 

Eliana’s Opinion:

2 Stars

Dorothy Must Die is a novel that twists a well-loved childhood story into something unrecognizable. Where everything you once knew about the world of Oz has been manipulated into something more sinister. This is a more than promising concept, and because of this my hopes for this book were pretty high.

Strangely enough I felt like the world building was lacking, which seems ridiculous when the novel is already based on well known story. Maybe because the novel already had a strong base for the story the author relied on this to carry the world building through the novel. Because of this unique world building, some of the more eccentric elements of the novel felt a little forced or overdone. The characters were all so different it was startling and the world building was so strange and surreal I had trouble linking everything together to form a clear picture of this newly crafted world of Oz.

I liked Amy as a protagonist. She was sarcastic and lost, but had a good head on her shoulders. I liked how flawed she was and the way she struggled to reconcile her strength with the loneliness she felt. But somewhere along the way she lost that part of herself. The narrative became bland and focused on plot development instead of balancing this with character development. Even the romance between Nox and Amy felt forced and strained.

I found myself growing bored with this novel. For the majority of the novel the plot lagged and I had to muffle yawns. Furthermore, the ending was anticlimactic and there was no actual Dorothy slaying.

 

Leave a Reply

