Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

19547856

Becky Albertalli

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

 

Eliana’s Opinion:

3 Stars

My favorite part about the novel was Simon, he was interesting and honest, relatable and a Harry Potter fanfiction reader. Honestly I was smitten with him from page one. He navigated the strange world of high school, friendship and love with a light funny voice that I found endearing and easy to get into. Not to mention the secondary characters were easy to love too. The group dynamics, though not always uncomplicated, were realistic. There was none of this stereotypical close-knit, I-know-everything-about-you friendship, instead the author chose to highlight how we can be tied to someone and know very little about them.

Nonetheless, I was actually more taken with the friendships and the odd Spier family traditions than with the romance. Honestly because most of the relationship was developed over email, though while admittedly sweet and honest, it was really hard to become invested in.

I don’t want to divulge anything but I thought the whole secret identity was a little predictable. It took very little time to figure out who the recipient of Simon’s emails was. Because of this I was hardly on the edge of my seat with anticipation, but I still appreciated the mystery and I found Simon’s nervous anxiety and desire to find him adorable.

Also because we never saw them interact until the very end it was difficult to picture their love story coming together. I honestly don’t think it’s possible to fall for someone over email. I am quite firm in my belief that actions speak louder than words so you can imagine my disappointment when they were limited to virtual conversations for the majority of the novel. Though I could not help but giggle or smile widely at some of their email exchanges, I would have liked some more face to face interactions.

I was never bored but that was more due to the brevity of the novel and less with the plot progression. This book is the definition of short and sweet, and I would recommend you go check it out if your interested in a heartwarming romance and a step in the right direction for LGBT awareness.

 

2 thoughts on “Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

  1. THOSE THAT HAVE NOT READ THIS BOOK, DO NOT READ THIS COMMENT!

    As much as I really loved this book, I can easily see why it can be a 3-4 stars rating book. For me, I was suspicious about the real Blue since he was described in great detail in English (like his hands), but for some reason I was set with Martin as Blue. XD And I really loved Simon as well! I think I gave this a 5 stars because at the time I just really enjoyed it after a long bout of readers’ block if that makes sense. I loved the your review! ^.^

    1. Thank you so much!!! It was a really fun read, I gave it a lower rating because even though I think it’s worth reading I wasn’t over the moon about it.

Leave a Reply

