Confess

22609310

Colleen Hoover

Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

 

Eliana’s Opinion:

1.5 Stars

I have to admit that this is my first time reading a Colleen Hoover novel. Her novels are extremely popular in the young adult romance genre so I had pretty high expectations going into this novel. I was wary because romance novels tend to disappoint me more than surprise me, but I was still optimistic. Let’s just say I should use optimism more sparingly.

Honestly, Auburn was dull and whiny. I didn’t mind the fact that she was coasting through life because her reasons for doing so were solid and she seemed ready to take the next step, I just didn’t like that she only managed to get her feet on the ground because of a love interest. I didn’t really like Owen either. The lonely misunderstood bad boy artist angle wasn’t really working for me. Generally reading about two characters overcoming the odds, struggling to be together and reach that happy ending isn’t as exciting when you can’t think of a single kind adjective to describe either character.

I also wasn’t intrigued by the way Colleen Hoover wrote the novel. She withheld all the important backstories about her characters until halfway through the book in order to make them appear multidimensional. The tragic backstories were the only thing that gave these characters any depth. Which is especially disappointing considering how many protagonists in young adult literature are shadowed by traumatic pasts. Sympathy usually isn’t enough to make me connect with a character anymore but it’s usually enough to get me interested. In this novel I was beyond caring. Plus, all the backstories were predictable so withholding them only frustrated me.

This was truly a whirlwind romance. The romance was built up over twenty-four hours and it was like after that day they couldn’t stay away from each other. It was only twenty-four hours. There is nothing I hate more than a love story that takes place in an unrealistic time frame. Not to mention Owen was drawn to Auburn because he had her met prior to the meeting that took place in the novel, but it wasn’t explained until the very end. I was more baffled and creeped out by Owen’s belief in fate and the intensity of his feelings for Auburn than charmed by them.

The only thing I liked about this novel was the inspiration for Owen’s art pieces, the confessions were heartbreaking and honest and I loved how Colleen Hoover included artwork amid her novel. Other than that I would probably never pick up another Colleen Hoover novel.

 

4 thoughts on “Confess

  1. I haven’t read Colleen Hoover yet… But, oh my, how disappointing! Luckily, the copies I have on my TBR pile waiting to be read are the Hopeless duology and Maybe Someday and not this one. I know Colleen Hoover writes a lot of new adult too. I haven’t read any books from that genre and I haven’t checked to see if the ones I own are ya or new adult yet, but I guess it’ll be a surprise when I read them. But hey, at least you’re willing to give her another try in the future! Usually with 1 star reviews, I don’t even bother with the author again…

    1. I actually think this one is classified as new adult? I went back and checked because I honestly didn’t even know that there was such thing as new adult. I’m generally not that interested in romance novels so I think that might have contributed to my review.

      1. Ahh, I see. Like I said, I’ve never tried NA books before so I’m kind of hesitant to try them. And I do enjoy a good romance when it happens to be a part of book, but, yeah, I’m not a big fan of the genre itself.

        1. I agree whole heartedly, when there’s romance as a subplot in another genre then I can’t wait to get my hands on it. However, when the novel is pure romance I become wary.

Leave a Reply

