A Court of Thorns and Roses

(A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)

16096824

Sarah J. Maas

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

 

Eliana’s Opinion: 

3.5 Stars

As soon as I saw that Sarah J. Maas had a new novel hitting the shelves I knew it was going on my to-read list. Sarah J. Maas knows how to create intricate and thrilling fantasy, and I while I was by no means disappointed by this novel I found it lacking in various aspects. The first part of this novel was slow, in order to establish not only Feyre’s character individually but also her relationship with the elusive and noble Tamlin. Sadly, these developments takes place in almost near isolation. Which allows us little else to focus on besides the couple’s slow burning sexual tension. And while they had a more heated romance than usual for a young adult novel, I felt very disconnected from the characters, even amid this passion. Their isolation also hindered the world building. We were introduced to a complicated and multi layered kingdom with politics and religion but none of this was touched upon in great detail. I was left bemused at their customs and politics because they lacked proper fleshing out.

What I loved about Sarah J. Maas’s other books was that you fell for the secondary characters as well. They added substance and depth to her novel. However in A Court of Thorns and Roses there were very little secondary characters to fall in love with. Until Feyre stumbles upon Rhysand, Rhysand is the opposite of Tamlin. Cruel, manipulative and wounded, Rhysand is forged from complexities and contradictions. Needless to say I was immediately drawn towards him and I have my fingers crossed for some sort of kinship to evolve between him and Feyre over the next few novels. Many readers dread the love triangle and hate it with an unholy passion yet I was so bored with Tamlin’s character that I am more than willing to brave the clichéd love triangle in pursuit of a more intriguing romance for Feyre.

I already mentioned that the first half of the novel is slow, but I plowed through it and was pleasantly surprised by the suspenseful ending. And even though I enjoyed this novel I would never recommend it on the basis that it’s an imaginative Beauty and the Beast retelling. Tamlin was more of a tamed petulant kitten than a ferocious beast.

 

5 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses

  1. A couple of other bloggers have mentioned that the beginning is slower paced and that the characters don’t manage to connect with the reader. I haven’t read Sarah J. Maas’s other work yet, so I think I’ll give Throne a Glass a try before this one (though I love B&tB).

    And I saw that you’re reading Unwind, I can’t wait to read your thoughts on that one. I bought that a couple of months ago and heard it’s fantastic.

    1. I have faith in Sarah J. Maas’ abilities to craft a fantastic fantasy world like she did in Throne of Glass (please go read that one, it’s amazing) but I was a little underwhelmed for the reasons you mentioned.
      In the middle of Unwind right now. It’s extremely fast paced but I’m not sure I like it quite yet.

      1. I think the only thing keeping me from starting ToG is that there’s still some books that need to be released in the series. And from what everyone says, it seems like one that induces book hangovers. Not sure if I want to experience that and have to wait of the next book to come out. 😛 But I will eventually!

        1. I agree. The books do manage do give you a bad hangover. The prospect of waiting for each new book is daunting and I always enjoy them more when I know I can turn to the next book in the series when I’m done.

  2. Pingback: A Year In Review | The Written Opinion

Leave a Reply

