Pride and Prejudice

cover_pandp

By Jane Austen

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.”

So begins Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen’s witty comedy of manners–one of the most popular novels of all time–that features splendidly civilized sparring between the proud Mr. Darcy and the prejudiced Elizabeth Bennet as they play out their spirited courtship in a series of eighteenth-century drawing-room intrigues.

Lydia’s Opinion

4.5 stars

To be completely honest I am not sure why I am rating this novel. I am sure everything I am about to tell you, you have heard before, and now I am sounding very mysterious and spy like, believe me its not my intention. I really just wanted to say how impressed I was with the description and some of you who have read this novel and loved it will hate me for saying this but the beginning was BORING!

There was so much description! It overwhelmed me and I understand that it was important to set the plot and everything but this was too much for my taste. This being said, I persevered and have no regrets. Pride and Prejudice is simply a classic! A must read at some point in your life! There was a stage in the novel where my eyes were watering, I just wanted them to finally end up together and it takes a lot to get me so worked up over a book. The writing? It’s Jane Austen, of course the writing was faultless.

Lizzy was such a passionate character, she had a way about her that made me admire everything she was saying or doing, she was confident and intelligent. I can see how Mr Darcy liked her so much. I was immediately under the spell of Mr Darcy’s mysterious and appealing character. Before the characters had even met I was picturing them together, hoping and waiting for the moment when they would meet and fall in love. I also loved how their love was not immediate, especially for Elizabeth who didn’t realize until much later how she felt about Mr Darcy. It seemed almost realistic if you believe in the existence of such passionate love.

I think I have raved about the book enough. To summarize the whole review, this book is everything it is said to be. It is truly a classic!

One thought on “Pride and Prejudice

  1. Pingback: A Year In Review | The Written Opinion

Leave a Reply

