Dragonfly in Amber

(Outlander #2)

5364

Diana Gabaldon

For nearly twenty years Claire Randall has kept her secrets. But now she is returning with her grown daughter to Scotland’s majestic mist-shrouded hills. Here Claire plans to reveal a truth as stunning as the events that gave it birth: about the mystery of an ancient circle of standing stones… about a love that transcends the boundaries of time… and about Jamie Fraser, a Scottish warrior whose gallantry once drew a young Claire from the security of her century to the dangers of his.

Now a legacy of blood and desire will test her beautiful copper-haired daughter, Brianna, as Claire’s spellbinding journey of self-discovery continues in the intrigue-ridden Paris court of Charles Stuart… in a race to thwart a doomed Highlands uprising… and in a desperate fight to save both the child and the man she loves.

 

Eliana’s Opinion:

2 Stars

With season two of Outlander having just recently premiered I thought it was finally time to find out what happens to our favourite highland couple. I have to be honest, while I enjoyed the first novel of this series there’s something about these historical romances that is daunting. Mainly the length of the novel and the inevitable lulls this brings.

Claire is never in the thick of things and this is less due to her unwillingness as it is to the unfortunate assignation of her gender and what that means for this time period. Nonetheless, I found myself frequently bored with Claire’s plot line and wishing to glimpse into Jamie’s point of view if only to be able to participate in the action for once.

I strongly dislike a damsel in distress, especially when it happens on more than one occasion. And while Claire is in no way useless, her training in medicine, her stubbornness and her creativity make her a compelling character, she doesn’t have as much opportunity to showcase these skills in this novel. And while I will forever admire Claire’s resilience I would have loved to see her engaged in the conflict.

I don’t know what it is about this novel but I was not as enchanted with their romance this time around. Maybe it’s because they’ve settled into marital bliss, or what can be considered marital bliss when you set out to change the course of time, but I was neither swept away or awed by them as a couple.

I have to praise the author for her brilliant attempts at evoking the time period. Every detail seems to have been well thought out so that I was so entranced with French politics or Scottish rebellion I frequently didn’t feel the time pass.

My only concern was the way in which Jonathan Randall seemed to have been let off the hook for raping Jamie. I understand the motivations behind the lack of retaliation, however, the almost casual way their interactions were portrayed was frustrating.

The entire time you’re reading this novel, you’re wondering and constantly waiting for the moment Claire is sent back to her original time line. It’s agonizing because for every step her and Jamie take you already know the brutal outcome. I was not as delighted with this novel as I was with the first one, in fact I had to push myself to finish it. However, since I enjoyed the first novel so much and this ended on an enormous cliffhanger I feel compelled to read the third instalment.

Leave a Reply

