The Raven King

(The Raven Cycle #4)

17378527

Maggie Stiefvater

Nothing living is safe. Nothing dead is to be trusted.

For years, Gansey has been on a quest to find a lost king. One by one, he’s drawn others into this quest: Ronan, who steals from dreams; Adam, whose life is no longer his own; Noah, whose life is no longer a lie; and Blue, who loves Gansey… and is certain she is destined to kill him.

Now the endgame has begun. Dreams and nightmares are converging. Love and loss are inseparable. And the quest refuses to be pinned to a path.

 

Eliana’s Opinion:

4 Stars

I don’t know how I can adequately put into words how this novel affected me. This novel, the final instalment of the Raven Cycle quartet, was at once everything I had hoped for and still left me wanting. Not due to any fault of the author or the novel itself but because these characters have entranced me so completely nothing but every detail would have satisfied my curiosity.

How can I possibly describe the misshapen group that are, as I have come to know them, the Glendower gang. The desperately intimate touches between Gansey and Blue, the weighted silences and sharp dialogue. The intensity and fragility of Ronan and Adam, all yearning and easy intimacy. And Noah, crumbling to ruin, underrated and essential. I think the most accurate way of explaining my state of mind as I read about the misadventures of these characters is emotional turmoil.

This series is characterized not only by its strange mystical plot but also by its characters. I think that character depth and growth dominate these novels and the plot lines feel like subplot for the intricacies of the group and relationship dynamics. This trend is continued in this novel, where the subplot, magical artefact sale and purchase, felt unnecessary. Furthermore, the search for Glendower had an extremely anti-climatic ending, which I admittedly adored. The simplicity and bone wrenching brutality of it echoed with the core of this novel.

There was the strange addition of Henry Cheng, a character who had only been briefly introduced before, as a more vital member of the group. This, coupled with Noah’s frequent absences from the novel, introduced a shift in dynamics that while not unwelcome felt like being thrown off balance.

I have to admit to sobbing embarrassingly over Gansey’s death. Tears blurring my vision, making it impossible to finish the novel until I got my breathing back under control, and cursing Maggie Stiefvater for keeping her promise. So while I am sad to part with these characters I am happy to say goodbye to them over such a beautiful and touching ending.

5 thoughts on “The Raven King

  1. Pingback: Toronto Pride: LGBTQ Characters – The Written Opinion

Leave a Reply

