Diversity Thursdays #2

This weekly spotlight was created by Aimal over at Bookshelves and Paperbacks. Please feel free to view the full post and all the details here.

I don’t think it will come as a surprise to anyone that readers are searching the literary world for diverse characters and authors. I myself am guilty of reading books which lack diversity and I strive to fix that with a little help from these posts.

A Book I Have Read
Enter Title Here
22060619

 This novel is centred around Reshma Kapoor, a high achieving student who has one goal, getting in to Stanford at any cost. Soon she gets caught up in her ambitious attempt to write a young adult novel.

A Book On My TBR List
The Argonauts

22929741

This has been on my to read list for forever. It’s an autobiography which focuses on the relationship between the author and her partner, Harry, who is gender fluid.

Soon To Be Released
The Sun is Also a Star

Yoon_9780553496680_jkt_all_r1.indd

This novel is a young adult romance wherein Natasha, a girl on the cusp of being deported to Jamaica, falls for a boy in New York City.

10 thoughts on “Diversity Thursdays #2

  1. Oh my gosh, Enter Title Here sounds so fascinating! I’m South Asian and I know the pressure parents and children put on themselves to overachieve in school. XD I’ll definitely be adding it to my TBR.
    I have yet to read Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. But if I take everything said about that author seriously, I’m sure I will love it. Thanks for participating, Eliana. ❤

  2. Pingback: Diversity Spotlight Thursday: #2 – Bookshelves & Paperbacks

  3. Darth Veda

    Aghh The Sun is Also a Star looks so pretty!! That cover 😍 It’s almost better than Everything, Everything, and that cover was GORGEOUS af. Even though I really didn’t like Everything, Everything, the cover was amazing. Enter Title Here is definitely something I want to read. It sounds uber realistic because I totally get the pressure when you are a Southeast Asian living in the US. By the way, your blog is gorgeous. This kind of simplistic, linear style really matches up with what I kind of like. What theme do you use? I feel like maybe I’ve seen this before, so I was just curious. Lovely post!!

    💜 Veda

    1. The pressure of school is something I find a lot of books don’t take very seriously even though it’s a pressing concern for a large portion of our generation. I actually haven’t read Everything, Everything but I have both these novels on my TBR list. I currently have a theme called Lovecraft. It’s one of the basic WordPress themes. Thank you for your comment!

Leave a Reply

